J Lawton Smith Award Recipient

J Lawton Smith was one of the original founders of the COS.  He was globally well known as a neuroophthalmologist who was charismatic in practice and his faith!

The J Lawton Smith Award is given out each year at the COS Annual Meeting to an ophthalmologist who has shown a lifetime commmitment to serving the Lord through their personal practice of excellence in medicine, academic influence, and/or missionary dedication.

Miracle of Taxila




Award Year:

“The story of Dr. Norval Christy’s work in Pakistan as recorded by a film team in the 1980s”

From WhiteLion Pictograph

Video documentary of the work at Taxila hospital in Pakistan.

YouTube player

JLS Award Recipients

Other amazing ophthalmologists to know . . .